Roasting Eggplant

24 May

Eggplant is one of my favorite foods, though I had no idea how to prepare a roasted eggplant until this past week.

As I sat down to read Real Simple’s latest cookbook, because their cookbooks are that good that they read like an excerpt from Fifty Shades of Gray, there were instructions on how to roast eggplant. Oh, everything is  finally right with the world! Without further ado, I will share this missing piece of the puzzle – how to roast an eggplant.

How To Roast An Eggplant, courtesy Real Simple

Step 1: Preheat your oven to 400 degrees

Step 2: Cut your eggplant in half, lengthwise

Step 3: Place eggplant face down on lightly greased cookie or baking sheet (one that has a lip around the edges)

Step 4: Roast in oven for 30-40 minutes, until completely soft*

Step 5: Allow to cool and then scoop out insides of eggplant

Serve however you wish. I made Mediterranean wraps that night (recipe coming in the next week or so) and the eggplant was the perfect complement to the dish.

*Note – I baked my eggplant for 30 minutes and it was not cooked through. I was able to use just less than half of the eggplant. I roasted another eggplant this week (So sue me. I love eggplant.) and leaving it in for the full 40 minutes does make a difference.

5 Responses to “Roasting Eggplant”

  1. Linda Vernon May 24, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    Well now that looks pretty darn good!

  2. we8icecream May 24, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    I love eggplant any way it is cooked….stir fried, baked, roasted, grilled. Most of the time I saute with olive oil and garlic. I make eggplant omelette at least twice a month!
    I am looking forward to your mediterrean wrap recipe!

    • tealandtulle May 24, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Leslie – I am the SAME way. I saute eggplant most of the time as well with olive oil and stock. It’s easily one of my favorite foods. I may have to make an omelet with eggplant too one of these days. I hope wedding planning is going well for you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mediterranean Wraps « teal and tulle - October 31, 2012

    […] few weeks ago I posted about roasting eggplants and showed the end result on my delicious Mediterranean wraps. Then I thought, why not share what I […]

Leave a Reply

