Key Lime Pie

6 Jun

One of the most summery things I can think of is citrus. Lemons, limes, oranges – the colors, flavors all exude summer.

I found myself with an ample amount of limes leftover from a pretty big party we recently had (ahem, the wedding), and after some thinking (I had to sit down, all that thinking takes the energy right out of me) I decided some Key Lime Pie was in store.

Best part about this recipe is that aside from baking the crust, the rest of the recipe is no bake!

Key Lime Pie, c/o Betty Crocker’s Best of Baking

Ingredients

Crust

1 1/4 – 1 1/2 C crushed graham cracker

1/4 C granulated sugar

6 TBSP butter

Pie Filling

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/4 C lemon juice

1/4 C lime juice

1 TBSP grated lemon peel (I only had limes – I used refrigerated lemon juice – so I used all lime peel)

1 tsp grated lime peel

3 drops of food coloring – green

3 eggs, separated

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375. Melt butter and mix together with sugar and crushed graham crackers.

Press into a springform pan, and bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown and set. Set aside to cool.

Mix together sweetened condensed milk, lemon and lime juices, lemon and lime peels, food coloring. Set aside.

Beat egg yolks a bit with a mixer. Set aside (we are setting things aside a lot in this recipe)

Pour the cream of tartar into the bowl with the egg whites. Beat until egg whites are stiff and foamy (this takes several minutes, so if you have a standing mixer, this is when to use it).

As your egg whites are going, pour your egg yolks into your sweetened condensed milk and juice mixture.

Once the egg whites are set, gently pour your yolk and milk mixture in with the egg whites, and fold together.

Pour over set crust and place in refrigerator for at least 2 hours to set.

I intended to have an image of a slice of the pie, dolloped with some whipped cream. But apparently I forgot to document that moment, because we ate it in a blackout rage of excitement.

2 Responses to “Key Lime Pie”

  1. Jackie June 7, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Key Lime Awesomeness! I think key lime pie is the perfect summer dish. Who knew it was so easy to make! I might have to prepare some for Nicole’s baby shower weekend in a few weeks. Yum!

    • tealandtulle June 7, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      It’s pretty darn easy – I would recommend making it in a smaller pan than I did, so you get a taller pie. Mine was good, but it could’ve stood to be a bit taller. 🙂

Leave a Reply

