Bananarama Bread

13 Jun

I’m very specific to the sorts of bananas I will eat. I like an early-ripe banana – preferably with the tiniest bit of green on the stem. Soft, mushy and overly sweet bananas are not up my alley. However, those sorts of bananas create the perfect storm for banana bread.

Baking Tip 1 – have bananas on hand, but no time to make banana bread? Wrap the bananas in foil, and drop into freezer bags. Leave in your freezer to use at a later date and time. The freezer ripens the bananas up (don’t be worried about the black peel when you unwrap the foil, the bananas are perfectly fine) and once defrosted, gives you a quick route to a breakfast treat.

Baking Tip 2 – no buttermilk in the fridge? Use whatever milk you do have available with a tablespoon of vinegar mixed in.

Banana Bread

Ingredients

1 1/4 C sugar

1/2 C butter (1 stick)

2 eggs

1 1/2 C mashed ripe bananas

1/2 C buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 C all purpose flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 C chopped walnuts or pecans – if desired

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease loaf pans (2 pans if 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 2 1/2 inches; 1 pan of 9 x 5 x 3).

Mix sugar and butter. Add eggs, mix until blended.

Add mashed bananas, buttermilk, vanilla. Mix until well blended.

Add in flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Stir until mixed through. Add nuts at this time if using.

Bake for 60-70 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

8 Responses to “Bananarama Bread”

  1. Jess June 19, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    I brought back garden grown zucchini compliments of my mama, so let’s have bread making party! I’ll take zucchini and you cna kick banana bread’s butt.

    • tealandtulle June 19, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Oh I love zucchini bread! You got yourself a deal!

  2. Jackie June 13, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    I agree with you regarding the ripeness of bananas. In fact, I rarely eat them unless IN banana bread. It looks quite delicious!

    • tealandtulle June 15, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      That’s because bananas are in their most prime form once in banana bread!

      • Jackie June 15, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

        So true! I’m sure monkey would agree with us if they could talk and bake.

  3. Meghan June 13, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    I bet this was fantastic! I love banana bread. I always put my overly ripe banans in the freezer to make bread at a later date, but usually just end up tossing them and never making any bread.

    • tealandtulle June 15, 2012 at 9:37 am #

      I’ve done that before too… especially when I think “HOW long as this bread been in here?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Round-Up « teal and tulle - September 4, 2012

    […] To top it off? A slice of banana chocolate-chip bread. Looking for a good banana bread recipe? Go here. […]

Leave a Reply

