Mediterranean Wraps

20 Jun

A few weeks ago I posted about roasting eggplants and showed the end result on my delicious Mediterranean wraps. Then I thought, why not share what I came up with?

I was inspired by recently missing my favorite Mediterranean place in Burlingame. Their Mediterranean Veggie Wrap is this amazing concoction of fresh Greek-style veggies, hummus, felafel, and dolmas.

Since my favorite place is almost 200 miles away now, I wondered if I could recreate the same thing at home. A stop by my local Trader Joe’s showed me that it is possible. While it’s still not quite the same as my beloved Peninsula treat, it’s close enough to really enjoy!

Mediterranean Wraps

Ingredients

Lavash Bread

1 Eggplant, chopped into bite-sized pieces

8 oz Mushrooms

1 Zucchini, chopping into bite-sized pieces

1 medium red onion, sliced into small wedges

Chicken breast, cooked and shredded

Lettuce and tomatoes, chopped for the wraps

Falafels (I love the prepared ones from Trader Joe’s), prepared based on instructions on the packaging.

Tzatziki sauce

Hummus spread

Feta cheese, for sprinkling

Preparation

Saute eggplant at medium heat until about 75% cooked, add zucchini and onions. Continue to saute over medium heat until everything is cooked through. Add mushrooms to mix and heat through before serving.

While those items are sauteing, prep your chicken, felafels, lettuce, tomatoes and other ingredients.

Heat lavash bread in microwave for about 15 seconds each, and get started layering your customized wrap!

Opah!

5 Responses to “Mediterranean Wraps”

  1. Heather June 22, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    Woah, I’m so going to try these, and SOON.

  2. Frankie Fingers Senior June 20, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Looks delish!

  3. Jackie June 20, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    I swear you could open a restaurant with this delicious concoction. MMMMM. Must try!

    • tealandtulle June 21, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      They are super easy and pretty good. It was fun to come up with something on the fly!

Leave a Reply

