Zesty Fusilli and Shrimp

29 Jun

Every week I cruise through my Real Simple cookbooks, looking for fun, easy and gourmet style dinners for Steve and I.

I came across this one dish – a light creamy shrimp pasta dish, with the zest of lemon. I’ve made pasta dishes with lemon in the past, with mixed results, but was intrigued. Very rarely does Real Simple lead me astray, and this meal was no different.

Whip this up, sit outside on a summer evening with a glass of white (I mean, you have to open a bottle for the recipe anyway!) and enjoy a casual-at-home summer date night.

Zesty Fusilli and Shrimp dinner

Ingredients

3/4 LB Fusilli (if you don’t have that, any shorter pasta will do)

2 TBSP Butter

2 Cloves of garlic

2 Leeks (white and light green parts only)

1/2 C white wine

1 C broccolini (this wasn’t in the original recipe, but I like adding greens where I can to my meals)

Kosher salt and black pepper

1 LB peeled and deveined medium shrimp

Zest of 1 lemon

3/4 C non-fat Half and Half (original recipe calls for heavy cream, but I swapped it out for something more waist-friendly)

10 oz baby spinach

Preparation

Cook pasta as stated on package directions.

Steam your broccolini for 3-4 minutes.

While your water is boiling and pasta is cooking, heat up the butter in a large pan over medium heat. Add leeks, broccolini, pressed garlic, salt and pepper. Cook for 3-5 minutes, until vegetables are cooked through.

Add wine and cook until most of it has evaporated.

Toss in the shrimp and lemon zest, cook until heated through. If you are using raw shrimp, cook for 4-5 minutes or until shrimp are opaque.

Add your half and half to the pot holding your cooked and drained pasta, and cook over medium heat until cream is thickened. Add your shrimp and lemon mixture to the pasta, then stir in spinach leaves.

Serve!

4 Responses to “Zesty Fusilli and Shrimp”

  1. Jess July 2, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Oh my this looks delish! My mom and I were just talking about yummy shrimp recipes, so I will be sure to forward this to her πŸ™‚

    • tealandtulle July 3, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      Oh good! I hope she likes it! I ate the leftovers happily for an entire work week!

  2. Jackie June 29, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    mmmmmm your recipes always make me hungry! I love my Real Simple magazine and have bookmarked quit a few recipes for future reference. Best bridesmaid gift ever πŸ˜‰

    • tealandtulle July 3, 2012 at 9:39 am #

      Glad you like the magazine! I love how simple their recipes are – both in preparation and in the amount of ingredients used. Plus they always turn out. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

