Happy 4th!

5 Jul

Happy post-4th of July, all!

I hope it was a relaxing and enjoyable holiday for all – it was a fun perk to have a day off mid-week.

To celebrate, we attended a BBQ hosted by some friends. Our contribution was homemade Pita Chips and White Bean Dip by Giada DeLaurentiis.

I also raided the sale section of Michael’s and came away with some great little patriotic decor pieces for future events!

The pita chips and bean dip ended up being a big hit at the party (well, it could’ve been a lack of other appetizer options, but I take what I can get). Want to make it yourself? The recipe is below!

Head’s up – I doubled the recipe for this party setting and I’d recommend that for any party larger than a group of 6-8.

Pita Chip and White Bean Dip – c/o Giada DeLaurentiis

Ingredients

6 Pitas

1 15 OZ can of Cannellini Beans

1/3 C olive oil, plus extra for brushing on pitas

1 tsp dried Oregano

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1/4 C flat-leaf parsley

2 TBPS lemon juice

Salt & Pepper

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Slice pitas into 8 wedges.

Place pitas on baking sheet. Spray or brush olive oil onto pitas and sprinkle with oregano, salt and pepper.

Bake for 8 minutes on one side, flip and bake for another 5 minutes (I almost burned a set going another full 8 minutes for the second round).

If you can manage multi-tasking (it is hit ‘n’ miss with me), work on your dip while the pitas bake.

Pour beans, garlic, parsley, lemon juice into a food processor. Pulse until mixture is in smaller pieces.

Add your olive oil and blend until mixed through. Add salt and pepper if necessary.

Serve!

6 Responses to “Happy 4th!”

  1. The Haute Frugalista July 8, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    omg I love hummus!! a little jalapeno? 🙂
    xoxo
    Dee!
    Enter my Fab Giveaway! http://hautefrugalista.wordpress.com/2012/07/05/oasap-is-giving-away-152-dresses/

    • tealandtulle July 9, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      Jalapeno sounds amazing! I’m definitely going to try that next time!

  2. Jackie July 5, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    You know much I love me some Pita and hummus dip!

  3. Meghan July 5, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    YUM! Its a good thing I was not as this bbq, I would have ate it all up.Hope you guys had a nice 4th!

Leave a Reply

