Garden Tote-ables

11 Jul

It was recently my mother-in-law’s birthday. I wanted to do something special for her, so I hunkered down to embroider a lined tote bag for her to use at local farmer’s markets and other fun errands in her little town out in Virginia.

Amongst her many talents (she is musically inclined, a painter, woodworker, horse-rider, a cook, sewer and has an eye for interior design), she is an avid gardener. Now being in Virginia, I’m sure she’s relishing her gardens and really enjoying the outdoors there. So that was my inspiration for putting together this design for her.

It was a fun and easy project – a perfect gift to give!

1. Find some darling iron-on patterns. I love the packets from Sublime Stitching.

2. Buy a tote bag, flour sack, tea towel, anything fabric that you want to stitch on! Both Beverly’s and Michael’s offers a variety of options. Sublime Stitching also has textiles you can order.

3. Use the instructions in your pattern packet to properly iron on your designs – be creative with how they are laid out on the textile!

4. Pick your colors – I love bright combinations. Don’t be afraid to combine two different colors into one stitch – I did that for my lettering (light and dark coral, light and dark green) as well as combining silver and blue for the beetle shell.  DMC brand is my go-to. You may not think much about the quality of embroidery floss, but when you are undoing tangle after tangle, you’ll wish you spent an extra four cents on the DMC brand.

5. Start stitching. Don’t know how to stitch? Follow this tutorial on learning basic stitches.

6 Responses to “Garden Tote-ables”

  1. sheila July 13, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    Hey! That looks familiar!! Thank you so much for the adorable bag, Erin– I’ll think of you every time I show it off at the local markets. It’s pretty, practical, and personal— perfect!

    • tealandtulle July 17, 2012 at 8:50 am #

      I’m glad you liked it, Sheila! It was a fun project to do!

  2. Meghan July 11, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Jackie, I totally agree. You are like the best daughter-in-law EVER.

  3. Jackie July 11, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    You are so thoughtful! What a darling tote. Someday I WILL attempt to sew something other than a button.

    • tealandtulle July 11, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      Oh, thanks! If it is any consolation, I’m not so good when it comes to stitching on buttons. We can call it even. 😉

Leave a Reply

