Oh, Dough You Know?

13 Jul

A few weeks ago on my weekend round-up, I made a homemade pie crust and filling for some spinach turnover appetizers that I shared with girlfriends.

The pie crust inspiration came from a place of laziness. After running the store earlier in the day for the ingredients to the spinach filling, I realized I didn’t have any of my trusty refrigerated pie dough in the fridge.

Instead of going the 3/4 mile back to the store (like I said, lazy), I pulled out my laptop, went to (uhh, like where else would I go?) Real Simple’s website, found this amazing pie crust recipe, even do-able for idiots first timers, like me.

That being said, I still clearly need some pie dough rolling practice before I actually make this into a real pie, as opposed to hacking up the dough into squares for an appetizer, as I did here.

Spinach Savory Turnovers

Pie Dough

Ingredients

1 1/4 C All-Purpose flour

1/2 C (1 stick) cold salted butter, cut into small squares

1 TBSP sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3-4 TSBP water

Preparation

In the food processor, pulse all the items except for the water, until the mixture is pebbly in size.

Add in water and pulse until mixture can hold together.

Wrap in wax paper and chill for at least 1 hour (it will keep in the fridge for up to 3 days).

When ready to use, unwrap dough, press the edges with your fingers or knuckles to soften the edges (a tip I learned from Real Simple – I mean, who knew?), and roll out dough – working from the center outward.

Spinach Filling and Turnovers

Ingredients

10 oz frozen spinach, thawed and thoroughly drained of water

3 green onions, chopped

2 eggs

1 egg white

1 clove of garlic, crushed

3 TBSP Ricotta cheese

4-6 oz Feta cheese

Salt & Pepper

Dash of nutmeg

Water, in a cup or small bowl

Preparation

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix aforementioned spinach filling ingredients together, expect the egg white and water, in a bowl.

Cut rolled out dough into squares. Spoon filling (less than 1 TBSP) onto each square.

Fold into triangles. Use the water to seal the edges of the turnovers, and brush with the egg white.

Bake turnovers for about 20 minutes, or until the turnovers are a nice golden brown.

Serve warm or at room temperature.

4 Responses to “Oh, Dough You Know?”

  1. Jackie July 13, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    I think I ate pretty much every single one of those. WHo knew pie crust was so simple? I made homemeade cornbread the other day. I forgot to add baking soda and the cornbread came out denser than concrete. Maybe you can add a “What not to do section” and feature my recipes.

    • tealandtulle July 17, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      I think that if I had made the pie crust for an actual pie, the results wouldn’t have been good. My lumpy, uneven rolled out dough was ideal for appetizers. 🙂 I had to “sample” them several times over before heading out to ensure they tasted good enough for you ladies.

  2. Linda Vernon July 13, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    These look amazingly delicious Erin. And I can honestly say I’ve never made a pie out of laziness. HA! 😀

    • tealandtulle July 16, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Ha! I figured if I could make the pie dough without having to deal with the grocery store for a 2nd time in one day, I’d be happy. Luckily, it worked out!

Leave a Reply

