Desperately Seeking Inspiration

18 Jul

Whenever I am looking for a new project, some directions on projects I am formulating in my mind, or just need some basic creative inspiration, I have a handful of resources I regularly peruse

Better Homes & Gardens: Do-It-Yourself

The website – and their magazine – is a fantastic resource for crafting ideas and projects that any person can take on. What I really like about BHG is that they offer plenty of projects that renters can do (making home accessories or re-purposing furniture) that won’t leave a lasting mark on whatever apartment, condo or house they are renting.

This article by BHG is right up my alley – features ideas and projects for leftover wrapping paper, scrap fabric and other crafty hints.

Picture Courtesy of Better Homes and Gardens

Real Simple

I preach the gospel according to Real Simple. Their articles on organization, simple but delicious recipes, and how-to guides are just up my alley. Their website is a fantastic resource for any crafter or home decorator. There are many articles here that showcase how to decorate with a specific color, texture or style.

Speaking of crafters or decorators, here is an article about nine ways to redesign a crafting space. I created my own space a few months ago as well.

Picture Courtesy of Real Simple

Martha Stewart

Say what you will about Martha Stewart – but she’s got a good thing going. A tried and true crafting professional. Her website is a great inspiration for me to check out party decor ideas, color schemes and decorative ways to use paper products. One project I did from MS several months ago, was creating paper pom-poms from tissue paper.

Picture Courtesy Martha Stewart

And Who Can Forget….

Etsy and Pinterest are both sites that are creative inspirations. For Etsy, I’ve had mixed results on items I’ve ordered (outside of jewelry) – but I learned that I could use the website for ideas on crafts and projects. It definitely came in hand when I was in the midst of my wedding projects.

Pinterest is a go-to for crafty decor concepts and ideas on party planning. I feel like Pinterest has turned everyone out there into a crafting machine – how awesome is that?!?! (the answer is clearly “pretty awesome, Erin!”)

Where do you go for creative inspiration?

2 Responses to “Desperately Seeking Inspiration”

  1. Jackie July 18, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    Great resources Erin! I love the set up of the first living room. I’m a huge fan of mixing and matching patterns. And I’m loving my Real Simple magazine subscription. ❤

    • tealandtulle July 18, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

      Same here! I loved that first picture. Maybe if we pool our resources we too can have a living room like that? (we’d probably have to ban S & T from ever setting a foot in there).

Leave a Reply

