Chicken and Dumplings Soup

20 Jul

As I mentioned earlier this week on my most recent Weekend Round-Up, we were out of town the entire weekend, and once back home Sunday night – I had to come up with something quick and easy for dinner.

Years ago I made this chicken and dumplings soup, using refrigerated biscuit dough, and I had this weird hankering for it. I know I got the recipe from somewhere, so I embarked on a thorough search online and through my favorite cookbooks to jog my memory. But it was to no avail – I couldn’t find the recipe anywhere!

Figuring that it couldn’t be much different than a basic chicken noodle soup recipe (of course, with dumplings instead), I figured I would create something off-the-cuff and see how it turned out. As I’ve mentioned before, my memory is about as reliable as Ronald Reagan’s memory during his 2nd term in office, so this was a risky endeavor.

Luckily the end result was that the soup wasn’t too shabby! I would definitely recommend it for a quick and easy meal. It also makes fantastic leftovers. I should know – I’ve been dining on it at lunch all week.

Chicken and Dumplings Soup

Ingredients

2 C chopped chicken breast

1 canister of refrigerated biscuit dough

2 carrots, chopped

3 celery stacks, chopped

3/4 onion, chopped

3 C chicken broth

2 TBSP reduced butter spread

2 bay leaves

1 can of cream of broccoli (you can use any “cream of” soup – I just had broccoli in my cabinet)

Sprinkle of dried tarragon

Preparation

Melt butter spread in a large dutch oven or pot. Saute onion, carrots and celery for 10 minutes or so over medium-high heat. While this is cooking, separate your biscuits, roll or flatten out, then slice them lengthwise – 1 inch wide or less. 

Add broth, soup, chicken, bay leaves, tarragon. Bring mixture to a boil, turn down to a simmer. Add in dumplings (well, your sliced biscuit dough) and use a ladle to mix heavier ingredients with dumplings. Cover and simmer for about 10-12 minutes. Serve!

Leave a Reply

