Craft-a-holic

1 Aug

Last night was something I liken to the perfect storm. The floors are finished. The furniture is moved back in. The husband is traveling for business and I didn’t have any chores that needed to be tended.

So out came the Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun, ironing board, sewing machine and paint brush. The painting project, since it’s not finished, will be featured on a future post.

It was time to have some fun.

First I tackled a project I had been anxious to do for weeks – sewing a pillow for the couch. I have more fabric on order and several more ideas, but I wanted to at least have something on there. I promise a tutorial on pillow sewing with the next set I make. This time around was just a quick sew job – wham bam!

I did a double-stitch around the edges of the fabric, just to have that extra sturdiness.

I added velcro along one side to close up the pillow. After the way I did the velcro on this pillow, I would definitely do it differently in the future.

 

The next project I had lined up was more of a last minute inspiration. When at Beverly’s buying the solid fabric to go on the back of the pillow I had just sewn, I saw this really cute trim, which I just had to buy.

So, I took the trim and ran around the house testing it on various items.

Nope….

Not this one either….

But, much like a crafting Goldilocks, I finally found something that was just right for the trim.

This was quickly accomplished with my Annie-Get-Your-Glue-Gun and a pair of scissors. I think it added a fun embellishment to an otherwise basic lampshade.

And lastly, a sneak peek of the table I’m repainting.

3 Responses to “Craft-a-holic”

  1. Lauren August 1, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    You are officially hired to help me change up my pillows!! Adorable!!

  2. Linda Vernon August 1, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    I love your colors. And that’s a really cute pillow. Can’t wait to see what it looks like when it’s all put together. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Green with Envy « teal and tulle - August 8, 2012

    […] But instead of tossing it out, I opted to paint it in one of our new decor colors, inspired by this fabric pattern, which is now sewn into a pillow cover and can be seen here. […]

Leave a Reply

