Pillow Fight

17 Aug

I don’t know if any of you out there have ever shopped for throw pillows, but they are ridiculously, absurdly expensive.

For months I’ve had this vision of orange chevron patterned pillows for our couch.

A single throw pillow was going to cost me $30-$110 (seriously, I saw one for $110). Laughing at the mark-up of a basic throw pillow, I ordered my own chevron pattern, jogged down to Beverly’s for stuffing, and resolved to do it myself.

As I waited for the chevron pattern to arrive, a really funky lime and white patterned fabric came in the mail. Apparently it was an order I placed for some leftover sale fabric that I clearly forgotten about  (it begs the question – was I fabric shopping under the influence?).

After exercising as much patience as I could muster, everything arrived last night. Getting down to business, I sewed and hand-stitched four more throw pillows for our couch. Check them out!

Check out our complete living room coming next week in Weekend Round-up.

Want to learn how to sew a hidden stitch? Here is a great tutorial I found and followed to teach myself.

2 Responses to “Pillow Fight”

  1. Jackie August 17, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Looks fabulous! I love the mix/match fabric too. If your hubby is anything like Tyler he’d never understand the neccisity for so many throw pillows. Men!

  2. sheila August 17, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Gorgeous! I love the colours, and wish I’d made some of the short, rectangular ones for our sofa too– it’s a pleasing collection of comfort without being overwhelming! great job, Erin!

Leave a Reply

