Carrot Bread

22 Aug

A few weeks ago I signed up for a local CSA (community supported agriculture) program. Each week, I pay $25 and pick up a box loaded with locally grown fruits and vegetables. I love the fresh produce, and it’s also a way for me to become familiarized with other items I may not otherwise purchase on my own.

One item that came in last week’s shipment was purple carrots. I had this vision of making carrot bread, and it being tinged with purple – I mean, how fun would that be?

Oh my God – look how awesome these are!

Oh, purple bread, here we come!

What?

Huh?

Wait a minute! They are still orange underneath?

Dammit!

Ok – so the carrots are still orange, once you peel off the exterior purple color. But, these carrots taste absolutely amazing and made for some fantastic carrot bread.

Carrot Bread, c/o Betty Crocker

Ingredients

1 1/2 C shredded carrots

3/4 C sugar

1/3 C vegetable oil

2 eggs

1 1/2 C all-purpose flour

1/2 C coarsely chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

1/2 C raisins

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cloves

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray non-stick spray to a 9x5x3 loaf pan.

Mix sugar, carrot, oil and eggs together. Stir in remaining ingredients.

Pour into loaf pan. Bake for 40-50 minutes (my loaf took about 50-55 minutes).

Allow to cool for 10-15 minutes before removing from pan.

Enjoy! Wrapped well, the bread will last 4 days at room temperature or 7+ days in the refrigerator.

2 Responses to “Carrot Bread”

  1. meghan August 22, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    Wow, I have never seen purple carrots before either, how fun! Getting a surprise box of fresh fruits and veggies every week sounds so fun. And it gives you motivation to try out new recipies you may never have thought to try.

    • tealandtulle August 29, 2012 at 8:32 am #

      That’s exactly it Megs – we get new stuff every week and it’s been fun racking my brain coming up with ways to prepare everything we receive. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

