Oven Roasted Corn

30 Aug

As I mentioned a week or so ago, we have signed up for this Community Support Agriculture deal, and one of the things we have received two weeks in a row is four ears of corn.

Like anyone, I know the best way to enjoy corn is roasted. But I have used this item a total of zero times.

So, I figured there has to be another way to make grilled corn on the cob, something more “Erin friendly” (which is where I won’t catch myself on fire, burn down our condo, or get my pants dirty from briquets).

Ends up – you can prepare corn on the cob, husks on, directly in your user-friendly, fire-limiting oven!

I also might have demolished an entire bushel of raspberries while preparing the corn.

Oven-Roasted Corn, c/o Food Network

Ingredients

4 ears of corn, husks still on.

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Bend down the husks and remove the silk from the corn. Put the husks back into place.

Soak husk-covered-corn in a large container of water for 10-15 minutes.

Place corn directly onto oven rack and bake for 30 minutes.

Remove from oven, allow to cool for a few minutes, remove husks and enjoy!

2 Responses to “Oven Roasted Corn”

  1. Linda Vernon August 30, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    Interesting. I suppose soaking them in water helps steam them in the oven? Were they as yummy as the picture suggests?

    • tealandtulle August 30, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      I got the idea from grilling the corn, when they suggested soaking them in water to keep the husks from burning – and since they get so toasted in the oven, I figured it would help out there too. 🙂

      And the corn was pretty darn good. As I cut it off the cob to store it for future eating, I found myself eating it by the spoonful (I keep a handy ‘sample spoon’ close by when projects like this happen) as if it was a dessert. Now that’s some good corn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

