Dye Lot

13 Sep

So earlier this week I alluded to a new craft project to take on while my husband was traveling.

Weeks and weeks ago I bought some fabric dye, with this great idea of dyeing a white pillow case and embroidering it with a fun bird pattern that would coordinate with our living room.

Never having dyed fabric before, I diligently followed the very confusing instructions on the interior of the box. Since the instructions were a mixture of dyeing fabric in a bucket (only legal in Alabama and other states where indoor plumbing is coming in 2030) and dyeing fabric on a stove-top (thank you 21st century), I went ahead and consolidated the instructions to one cohesive set for this post. Why? Because I care about all you, and making craft projects user-friendly. And also, if I have to decipher those instructions ever again from the box, I will go on a murderous dye rampage.

How to Dye

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Once it reaches a boil, turn the temperature down to a simmer.

In the meantime, mix your dye packet with two cups of hot water. Once water is at the simmering point, add dye mixture to pot. The instructions suggest adding salt when dyeing cotton.

Rinse fabric in hot water. Add fabric to simmering water and dye mixture.

Stir constantly for 10-30 minutes.

Remove fabric from dye mixture and rinse in water (starting with hot water and transitioning to cold water) until the water runs clear.

Either line dry or toss the fabric in the dryer.

From there, I wanted to add on an embroidery pattern to stitch. But I quickly came to a halt when I realized that ironing on the pattern will be an exercise in futility – you can’t see gray on gray! So, after a little research and finding this tutorial from Sublime Stitching, I was ready to make the pattern transfer.

Finding some tracing paper from an old sewing pattern, I sat down and got to work.

Stay tuned for a future post showing the completed product!

3 Responses to “Dye Lot”

  1. Sheila September 13, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Cool! I think the vested bird you are about to create is gonna look great– much more appealing than the heart shown in the tutorial… (who would wear that… a cardiologist??) Happy stitching!!

  2. Mom September 13, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    I dyed something once, wore rubber gloves but somehow ended up with blue arms from mid arm to a couple of inches above my elbows. You are brave.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bird Bust Throw Pillow « teal and tulle - October 7, 2012

    […] out this post on how to dye fabric and add an embroidery pattern onto a dark […]

Leave a Reply

