Pumpkin-Chocolate Brownies

9 Oct

The end of the weekend was spent embracing the autumn season. In California the climate is more mild and moderate, but there is still that definitive change from summer to fall. While decorating the house with acorns, colorful leaves and faux cobwebs, I thought a little pumpkin treat would be appropriate.

Having made my fair share of pumpkin cookies or bread in the past, I wanted something new. I found this great pumpkin and chocolate brownie recipe and gave it a try. The brownies came out very flavorful and moist, spicy with the cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves from the pumpkin mixture, decadence from the chocolate mixture.

I didn’t really modify the recipe, except omitting nuts, as I didn’t have any on hand. For me, the baking time was closer to 50 minutes. So, keep an eye on your brownies, watch for the center to be set and rely on the trusty clean inserted toothpick method.

6 Responses to “Pumpkin-Chocolate Brownies”

  1. Mom October 9, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Just the thing now that Starbucks has a pumpkin latte shortage. Now I can have the pumpkin in the brownie instead of the coffee. Win/win for me.

    • tealandtulle October 9, 2012 at 2:09 pm #

      My recipe is coming to the rescue just in time!

  2. Meghan October 9, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    wow, these look amazing.

    • tealandtulle October 9, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      Thanks! They taste very good too (obviously – how can you go wrong when combining chocolate and pumpkin?). 🙂

  3. Jackie October 9, 2012 at 11:12 am #

    This looks too good to be true!! I am hoping you bring these to the Halloween party. If not I’ll just have to make them myself!

Leave a Reply

