Pumpkin Perfect

11 Oct

Have you ever found yourself walking into Michael’s on a Sunday evening because you’re hankering for a project while watching vintage Chris Noth in Law and Order on the DVR?

No?

Just me?

Well, fine then!

When I make these adventures to any craft store, I never leave empty-handed. It’s just NOT possible.

This time, I found myself toting a small Stryofoam pumpkin out the door with me. Having no idea what I will do with it, I grab a free pamphlet with ideas for painting pumpkins on my way out the door.

Did I mention that the instructions were in Spanish?

No?

Huh.

Well, then you can imagine my surprise as I read said pamphlet on my way to the car. And since I didn’t want to look like an ignorant idiot who cannot utilize her high school or college Spanish even when faced with dire crafting straits, I kept walking. And took the damned pamphlet with me.

Luckily, when I got home I discovered that my most recent copy of Everyday with Rachael Ray has dozens of ideas on how to decorate a pumpkin. That woman may make me roll my eyes with her EVOO and “yum yums” talk – but her staff has some great crafting ideas. One that caught my eye was a cross-stitch design on the pumpkin, and that’s when I knew my el folleto de espanol was history.

I went ahead and busted out some patterns from Sublime Stitching and sketched out a few on the surface of the pumpkin. From there, I punched the outside with a thumb tack and followed it through with the needle and thread. About 90 minutes later I had this to show for my efforts!

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Perfect”

  1. Jackie October 11, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    How cute! You don’t have to worry about it rotting like a real pumpkin and can reuse it every Halloween. 🙂

  2. Mom October 11, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Que es tan pulcra. Buena idea para bordar en lugar de pintura o punto de cruz.

    Su Madre’.

Leave a Reply

