Hot Cakes on a Cool Day

22 Oct

In coming back from my trip, I brought few tokens or mementos, aside from a variety of Christmas tree ornaments (which are more cat-themed than I originally intended). One thing I did bring back, mostly for my husband, was bone fide 100% Maple Syrup from Canada.

And what does one do which such an exciting gift?

Pancakes, of course.

We don’t make pancakes too often, which means I don’t keep a mix around the house. A quick browse of the Internet led me to a pretty fantastic from scratch recipe. It wasn’t difficult to prepare, all the ingredients are in most people’s pantries, and the end result tasted delicious. A tip from me – a griddle makes for more even and pretty pancakes, but any large pan will suffice.

Next time you are lounging around on an autumn Sunday, might I recommend a plate of these?

4 Responses to “Hot Cakes on a Cool Day”

  1. Heather November 7, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Yum! My maple spread got taken away and tossed in the trash at the airport and I almost cried. We don’t do pancakes either, but I was looking forward to spreading my schmear on crackers, bagels… my finger, bacon, Leila’s head. Whatever.

    • tealandtulle November 9, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

      I applaud your ability to put the schmear on the food first (though I see it quickly degrades – I don’t think Leila would approve your latter methods). My schmear eating attempts usually get interrupted by me shoving the spoonful of it directly into my mouth.

  2. Meghan October 22, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Welcome home! I don’t even like pancakes, but those look good.

  3. Jackie October 22, 2012 at 9:56 am #

    MMMMM yum! Nothign like homemade pancakes on a cold fall morning with fresth maple syrup. My mouth is watering!

Leave a Reply

