Robble Robble

30 Oct

This time of year is ripe with a variety of fun autumn activities – pumpkin carving, spooky decorations, cheesy Halloween music, sampling the trick-or-treat candy,  throwing on a mask and pretending to be something else for a night.

More than anything, Halloween is a great excuse for me to come up with something to make. I love researching ideas, going to my local fabric shop to pick up all the project pieces, and spending the days or week leading up to Halloween coming up with how to make my costume happen in a creative and affordable way.

After going back and forth on various ideas, I finally settled on being the Hamburglar, from McDonald’s.

This costume proved to be one of the more affordable and easy costumes I had put together in a number of years. Luckily I already had certain pieces (some of the felt, the hat, and yellow ribbon).

Buying a cheap striped maxi dress from Ross ($9), I hemmed and tailored it for a better fit, and started to put together the items I already had on hand.

Of course, the most fun I had was when I pulled out my sewing machine to make the tie and cape.

The cape – I sketched the shape with a pencil before cutting the fabric and sewing it together. The cape ties were added on before I made the final stitches along the top of the cape.

The tie – I used one of my husband’s examples and exaggerated the width for the sake of the costume. I created a seam along the edge of the tie, as I wasn’t concerned about detailed aesthetics for a Halloween costume. Pulling the tie right-side out, I stitched up the pointed end and got to work on the hamburger details.

The hamburgers – I bought the appropriate felt colors, and used fabric glue to adhere the shapes as I cut them out. I know the Hamburglar had basic Happy Meal hamburgers on his tie, but I was having too much fun with color, so I upgraded my burgers to include the works. I think it was worth it!

All in all, it took me about 3 days to make the costume and it cost me less than $30. Not too shabby!

3 Responses to “Robble Robble”

  1. sheila November 4, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE!!
    What a terrifically creative idea!

  2. Frankie Fingers Senior October 31, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    I love your costume!

  3. Jackie October 30, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Cuteness galore! You rocked the costume! I like that the “fun” part for you was pulling out your sewing machine. I wish I thought sewing was fun. Instead it just causes me to bleed and have pants with three legs.

Leave a Reply

