Goldie the Gold Crackled Reindeer

28 Nov

Last week, I discovered some darling paper mâché reindeer at Beverly’s on sale for $2.50. Always in the market for a craft project, especially one holiday oriented, I readily bought the deer and paint supplies necessary (which cost less than $8).

1. I painted the reindeer with my base color. In this case, red. For a short while, the reindeer was affectionately called “blood deer.”

2. Once the red set, I painted on some crackle creator, and allowed it to set until tacky (about 10-15 minutes).

3. On top of the crackle layer, I painted the deer gold. After allowing the final layer of paint to set, the crackle allowed small veins of red paint to show through, making the deer appear aged and distressed.

4. I added some decorative ribbon and a little wreath pick to the reindeer’s neck. And done!

2 Responses to “Goldie the Gold Crackled Reindeer”

  1. Meghan November 29, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Shes so pretty! I love the touch of ribbon around the neck.

    • tealandtulle November 29, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      Thanks Megs! I thought the reindeer could use some flair! 🙂

Leave a Reply

