Lentil Stew

16 Jan

Lentil soup. My husband talks more about his love of lentil soup than some men talk about sports. For example, when my family was discussing meal options for Christmas Eve 2011, Steve suggested lentil soup. What is this? Oliver Twist? The idea was immediately vetoed.

However, as I was flipping through my most recent Real Simple magazine, I was reading an article about various greens (kale, beet greens, dandelion greens, etc). The article talked about the different kinds of greens out there, how to prepare and eat them, along with recipes to try.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One such recipe was a Lentil Stew, with hearty mix of ingredients, including mustard greens. Intrigued by the recipe, and my husband’s love of lentils, I decided to give it a whirl.

The stew was delicious – and has quickly risen to one of my personal favorite recipes. It might not be worthy of Christmas Eve dinner, but it’s pretty tasty for a cold winter’s night.

Lentil Stew, c/o Real Simple Magazine

Ingredients

1 TBSP olive oil
3/4 lb sausage, casing removed (I used Italian style turkey sausage)
2 medium onions, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
6 C chicken broth
6 C stemmed and torn mustard greens or kale (this is the equivalent to 1 bunch)
1 lb sweet potatoes (about 2 medium), peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces
1 C dried lentils
Salt & Pepper

Preparation

Heat oil in large pot over medium high heat. Add sausage, crumbling it as you go, into pot. Cook for 8-10 minutes, until browned. Add onions and cook for another 3-5 minutes. Add garlic and cook for another minute.

Add broth, lentils, mustard greens, sweet potatoes, salt and pepper to the sausage and onion mix. Bring to a boil, cover and reduce heat to a simmer. Leave pot partially covered, stirring occasionally, for 30-35 minutes, until lentils and potatoes are done.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 Responses to “Lentil Stew”

  1. Mom January 17, 2013 at 8:54 am #

    I will print this for my home recipe collection. Thanks!

  2. Jackie January 16, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Oh how I love lentils! I could probably get Tyler to try this soup since it also incorporates sausage. I also read the Real Simple recipe. It’s cool to see it in action. Must try!

    • tealandtulle January 17, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      Definitely give it a try. It’s a hearty stew, so it’s seems to be more “guy friendly.” Add some nice white bread to the side, along with an iceberg salad, and I think you’ll sell Tyler on it!

  3. Jason January 16, 2013 at 10:05 am #

    You can also go all yuppie and throw in a handful of arugula (older better than baby). For British working-class cred you can call the leaves “rocket.”

    • tealandtulle January 16, 2013 at 10:09 am #

      Mmmmm – old arugula. You are really onto something, Jason!

  4. Terri January 16, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    Sounds yummy – but I need to make a veggie option for my hubby. I suppose I could just take out the sausage and use veggie broth…

    • tealandtulle January 16, 2013 at 9:49 am #

      Definitely – I’ll bet it would be just as good with a vegetable broth. Are there non-meat alternatives for the sausage? If so, I’d say give it a try!

    • tealandtulle January 16, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      I also have a pureed broccoli and spinach soup I’ll be posting next week – I did use chicken broth in that, but that could be made easily into a vegetarian option with vegetable broth. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dressing To Go | teal and tulle - March 18, 2013

    […] was a laid back on in our household. On Sunday we prepared a dinner (recipe of what we made is here) for some friends who just had a baby and took it over to them to […]

Leave a Reply

