Cream of Broccoli and Spinach Soup

22 Jan

With the cooler temperatures last week (not so much this week), I have been drawn to soups. They are easy, satisfying and keep you warm as the night sets in.

I wanted to try this soup, from Rachael Ray’s most recent magazine issue, because I found myself saddled with two large heads of broccoli from our CSA box.

Head’s up for those who made the lentil soup before this soup – I can almost guarantee that your significant other will state “It’s ok… but not as good as the lentil soup.” Take the comment in stride – this soup can seem frou-frou, given that it’s chalk full of vegetables, and not lentils and sausage. Also note, a retort of “Yes, but it’s fat free” won’t necessarily go over well, given your audience.

Broccoli and Spinach Pureed Soup, c/o Rachael Ray Magazine

Ingredients

1 head of broccoli, chopped into one inch pieces
5 oz frozen spinach, defrosted
7 C chicken broth (exchange vegetable broth here for a vegetarian option)
4 cloves of garlic, chopped
7 scallions, sliced (I added a leek to the mix as well)
1 large baking potato, peeled and diced into 1 inch chunks
8 oz plain Greek yogurt, divided (I used fat-free yogurt)
A heavy dash of Thyme (fresh chopped or dry)
Salt & pepper

Preparation

In a large pot, combine broccoli, potato, garlic, broth, 2/3 of the scallions, leek, Thyme, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat to a simmer. Allow to simmer for 30-35 minutes, until broccoli and potato are cooked through.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add spinach and mix. In batches, puree the soup using a food processor or a blender.

Add pureed soup back to pot, stir in 2/3 of the yogurt. Heat over low to warm soup back up.

In a separate bowl, mix remaining yogurt with remaining scallions and a dash of Thyme. When serving, add this yogurt mix to the top of the soup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 Responses to “Cream of Broccoli and Spinach Soup”

  1. Heather January 23, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    This looks super yummy! E, if you regularly make pureed soups like this, I highly recommend an immersion blender. It’s SO easy to use. Jon got me one after I burned myself four or so times trying to use the blender in batches for soups like this (and not waiting long enough for it to cool… hey, I’m a hungry girl.) I use it at least once a week! 🙂 I’m adding this one to next week’s menu!

    • tealandtulle January 23, 2013 at 9:59 am #

      That is such a good idea! I have seen immersion blenders in stores and have wondered if they are worth the purchase. I will admit, I’ve created a few messes in my day with food processors and traditional blenders. I’m not the most coordinated cook in the world. I think you have sold me on it! 🙂

  2. Jackie January 22, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    That looks SO GOOD and also so healthy. A great way to get your greens in! It’s due to get cold again next week so I may try out this recipe then. Mmmmmm.

    • tealandtulle January 22, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

      It’s not too shabby of a recipe. I’d recommend it for yourself when Tyler’s not around… I learned it’s not a very “guy” friendly meal. 😉

Leave a Reply

