Will You Be Mine, Valentine?

24 Jan

I love sending cards to my family for most every holiday. Sometimes I pick them up at a local shop – this one is my personal favorite – but other times I prefer to make them myself. And what better time for a labor of love than Valentine’s Day?

Besides, there’s nothing weird, obnoxious, or bizarre about a 30 year old woman hand-making valentines. Nope. Not. At. All.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What_You_Need_Vday_Card

1. Sketch out your ideas. If you need help with drawing things out, I’d recommend creating a template and then tracing it onto the card for easy guidance.

I created heart templates. I have the arm muscle development of a T-Rex, so my artistic talents are greatly affected. I need all the help I can get.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Using your thumb tack, punch holes along sketch lines. Erase any pencil marks that might show through, but don’t worry about pencil lines if you are doing a back-stitch on the cards.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. Embroider away!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Mail to those you love. Or those you want to impress, if that’s your thing. Whatever. I’m not here to judge.

2013-01-22

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Responses to “Will You Be Mine, Valentine?”

  1. jenniferotey January 25, 2013 at 9:23 am #

    These are gorgeous!!

    • tealandtulle January 25, 2013 at 9:24 am #

      Thank you, Jennifer! They were so much fun to make, too.

Leave a Reply

