Tote-able Crafts

6 Feb

Like any crafter, I find myself spending time on Pinterest. I’m not obsessed or crazed about it like some people, and my inspiration boards look more like Swiss cheese than a cohesive guide for future ideas and plans. However, there are times I come across a real gem that I just cannot resist.

This time around, it was this tote bag. I loved the statement on it.

il_570xN.401492974_n0bi

Though, the tote seemed like it was lacking something…. like actual glitter. If you are so crafty, then why not give it some glittery bling?

That being said, I set out to make my own variation of this bag.

What_You_Need_Glitter_Tote

Step 1: Print out your quote.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 2: Trace the quote backwards onto your transfer paper, using a transfer pen. It is very important to remember to trace your quote backwards, since when you flip it over to iron it  on, the quote will be right-side-up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 3: Iron on quote to tote bag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 4: Embroider (and use fancy filter picture option to feel even more artsy)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 5: Tote your crafting stuff around town like the bad-ass crafter you are. Sweat glitter because you are awesome.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tip

A tip for when you are embroidering with textured thread. Run your thread over wax (you can use what you have at home or you can buy wax in any craft store) to help keep the thread from tangling or bunching up. It makes for a much smoother stitching experience.

3 Responses to “Tote-able Crafts”

  1. joanabarbosa February 7, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    Reblogged this on devaneiosdolhar.

  2. Lauren February 6, 2013 at 10:28 am #

    Love this!! And I can confirm firsthand that you do, indeed, sweat glitter.

  3. Jackie February 6, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    I am so not crafty I sweat duck tape. But you, my friend, ARE so crafty you sweat glitter. I dare say you vastly improved the tote (and quote) you found on Pintrest. Those would make really cool gift totes for other crafty friends!

Leave a Reply

