Table Topics

4 Mar

I  have been out of commission for a few weeks on Teal and Tulle – for a few reasons:

1. My husband has been doing heavy traveling, so that means not so many meal ideas.

2. I have been doing “not-so-fun” sewing projects – stitching patches, hemming jeans. Who wants to see that? It was dull enough the first time around!

Anyway, I am back in action and I have a great little painting project I completed last week.

About a month ago, I picked up a table at one of those overpriced-second-hand-shops in downtown. The shop was closing (surprise, surprise) and since I take advantage of others misfortunes, I got the table for a steal at $19.

Originally, I intended to use the table in our guest room, but came up with some other ideas for that space. I opted instead to paint the little table a bright color – you might recognize the same paint color from here – and put it in the upstairs landing area. Between the paint (originally $15), the table ($19) and decor I gathered from around the house ($0), I was able to add a fun accent table to our space for under $40.  Check it out!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, stay tuned for a fun pillow sewing project coming up where I retaught myself how to make cording for pillows. This lesson came after a lot of “HULK-ANGRY-SMASH-MANY-THINGS” moments. I’ll share what I learned next week.

In the meantime – everyone’s favorite crafting feline!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 Responses to “Table Topics”

  1. Linda Vernon March 5, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

    Haha Erin. A wise us of other’s misfortunes! This turned out soo cute Erin. I love the way you decorated it too. Very modern and I love how you incorporated a circle, a cylinder, and rectangles. Very Clever and creative. I hat to think what Pottery Barn would charge for something like this!

    • tealandtulle March 5, 2013 at 1:11 pm #

      Linda – here is how Pottery Barn would break this down:

      Table: $399 (after they paint it, they would bang it against the wall to distress it all over again)
      Wicker Basket: $59 (it might already have some holes in it)
      Shiny, ceramic bingo balls to go inside must-have wicker basket: $12.99 each (because bingo balls are so kitschy and CRAZY fun!)
      Plain white dish: $34.99 (on sale from Christmas)
      Mini director’s lamp: $689

      And lastly:
      A bag of dirt to fill your hurricane vases with: $89

      • Linda Vernon March 5, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

        LOL Erin! Haha! You need to open your own store to compete with Pottery Barn. Maybe you could even recruit “Grams” away from Pottery Barn to help you with it. You could call your store Pottery Erin. I love it!

  2. patsyjean March 4, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    HAH! I beat Jackie for the first comment. Wonder what that’s all about. ; )

    You’re so right, Erin. Painting is the cheapest way to turn something so-so to something very eye catching. I try to look at accessary furniture in what color is should be painted, buy it and never get around to painting it. I love your ability to just get it done and get it done right.

    • tealandtulle March 5, 2013 at 1:12 pm #

      I actually had this table sitting in our garage for a few weeks before committing to a color. I finally realized that no matter what color I painted it – if I hate it, I could simply REPAINT it. It was fun and easy. Until Hendrix jumped on the wet paint and then ran around the house while I chase him.

Leave a Reply

