Dressing To Go

18 Mar

This past weekend was a laid back on in our household. On Sunday we prepared a dinner (recipe of what we made is here) for some friends who just had a baby and took it over to them to visit.

As I prepared the salad, I couldn’t come up with a decent way to transport the salad dressing. I didn’t want to pre-mix the salad (soggy salad is the worst), I didn’t want to pour dressing into a baggie (tacky), and I didn’t want to send over a large bottle of dressing (here’s salad for two and dressing for eight). After contemplating my options while digesting frozen Jr. Mints from last night’s movie, I realized I could use an old small jam jar to transport the exact amount of dressing needed.

Soak the jar in warm soapy water to loosen the adhesive of the label. Use sandpaper to remove any excess glue that doesn’t come off.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To remove any scent of the jam, soak jar and lid in a mix of water and baking soda.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pour dressing into jar and label it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also – check out the adorable drawing my husband did for their dinner bag package!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 Responses to “Dressing To Go”

  1. Jackie March 18, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    Thank you again for Delicious dinner!! The salad dressing was amazing and so cute in the ham jar. Great idea!!!

    • Jackie March 18, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

      Jam jar not ham jar. Although a ham jar might have to be your project

      • tealandtulle March 22, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

        I think it could be appropriate. I mean, doesn’t deviled ham come in a ham jar? I would like to think YES.

Leave a Reply

