Easter Eggs for Keeps

1 Apr

My most memorable Easter egg decorating experience from my childhood was about 1992 – when I was nine years old. I spent the week at my grandparents’ home and as usual, my gram had plans for every minute of my visit. On that list was dyeing and decorating Easter eggs. Never one for a basic boil-eggs-open-Paas-packets-and-dye, my gram had read about some new ideas for dyeing eggs. Armed with sewing pins, glue guns, buttons, lace, ribbons and other small decor items from her arsenal of crafts (the woman has a room full of this stuff, now I know where I get this from), we got to work.

The best part was, instead of boiling eggs that would only keep for a finite time, my gram learned how to extract the raw egg from the shell and to have keepsake Easter eggs for years to come. Our cheeks hurt and our lungs burned, but it was so much fun.

My work back then could gently be described as “disturbing” or “hideous.” Here is one of the few original eggs I have left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So this week I decided to decorate some Easter eggs like it was 1992. One would hope that this year my egg decorating talent would go from “hideous” to “ugh.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 1: Prick a hole at the top of your egg, and a larger hole at the bottom of your egg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 2: Blow. Seriously. Blow through the smaller hole so hard that it forces the egg out the other hole. Rinse any residual egg off the shell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 3: Dye eggs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 4: Decorate and display.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 Responses to “Easter Eggs for Keeps”

  1. Meghan April 8, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Erin these are darling! Reminds me of when I was young and would make confetti eggs. Would blow the egg out like you did and fill with confetti. You could then take the egg and smash on someones head. Then were popular in elementary school at our craft fairs.

    • tealandtulle April 8, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      Oh my gosh – I never did that as a kid. That sounds like so much fun! I love the idea of filling the eggs with confetti.

  2. sheila April 1, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    How pretty Erin! Like the display tree too. I feel bad… I actually had some eggs already blown to decorate for easter, the ones from the barn that are already blue, even, but I never got that far. Rats… well, I suppose they’ll keep till next year!

Leave a Reply

