Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

9 May

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I am my own worst saboteur, I found myself in the kitchen baking chocolate cookies last weekend. Simply because I wanted them.

Did I even work out for them? I walked from the living room to the kitchen to make it happen, so yes Absolutely not.

I wanted to try something new, and came across a series of chocolate crinkle cookie recipes. The cookie seemed simple enough, and they turned out fantastic. Several days later the cookies are still soft and moist. The dusting of powdered sugar adds a great texture to the cookie as well.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Ingredients

1 C unsweetened cocoa powder
2 C granulated sugar
1/2 C vegetable oil
4 eggs
2 tsp almond extract (vanilla works here too)
2 C all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 C confectioner’s sugar

Preparation

In a mixing bowl, mix together cocoa, granulated sugar, and oil. Beat in eggs one at at time. Add extract.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl. Pour into wet mixture and blend. Cover the dough and refrigerate for 3-4 hours.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper. Roll dough into 1 inch balls, roll into confectioner’s sugar, and place on cookie sheet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bake for 10-12 minutes and allow to cool for a minute on the sheet before removing to cooling rack. Cookies will need to cool down before eating because they are soft until set.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 Responses to “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies”

  1. Meghan May 14, 2013 at 3:03 pm #

    Erin, do you like pecans? If so I’ll have to send you my new favorite “paleo” recipe for caramel pecan bars. They are my new fav and I’ve got everyone whos tasted them addicted!

    • tealandtulle May 15, 2013 at 10:18 am #

      I do – you’ll have to share the recipe with me!

  2. Meghan May 10, 2013 at 9:03 am #

    These look amazing. I want one right now!

    • tealandtulle May 14, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

      Tell me about it! I should make another batch…. *pulls at waistband * Well, maybe I shouldn’t. 🙂

  3. Jackie May 9, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    Oh. My. Gawd. I can and will make these and I can and will eat the entire batch in one sitting!!!!! And I count walking from the living room to the kitchen as exercise.

    • tealandtulle May 9, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      The nice thing about this recipe is that the cookies keep for several days without losing their moisture. Mmmmmm cookies. I might have to make another batch – obviously ours are long gone at this point.

Leave a Reply

