A Paper Anniversary

22 May

Earlier this month, Steve and I celebrated our first anniversary. Given that the first anniversary is where you give gifts of paper, I decided to give it a whirl (besides, the gift card to have his golf clubs extended didn’t really scream “creative romance” to me).

I went to Beverly’s and picked up some tools for my project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I painted the box and the tag for the front.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I lined the box with some scrapbook paper, and added an envelope to the lid to hold some mementos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I decorated the lid of the box and added all the details to go inside. I had been collecting tickets and items since we started dating, and I included those, along with brochures, a few pictures, etc.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lastly, to celebrate 52 weeks of marriage, I wrote down 52 reasons why I loved Steve. I decorated a mason jar to hold the reasons and used left over scrapbook paper to seal the lid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All in all, the gift and project ended up taking a fun twist on an old tradition.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 Responses to “A Paper Anniversary”

  1. Sheila May 22, 2013 at 8:52 pm #

    How incredibly thoughtful and creative!

    • tealandtulle June 7, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

      Thanks Sheila! It was a great excuse to have some fun with the gift idea. 🙂

  2. Jackie May 22, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    This is such a great idea!! I might have to “steel” it for our 2 year anniversary.

Leave a Reply

