Homemade Croutons

20 Jun

Have you ever had one of those moments where you think “and why haven’t I ever done this before?”  It’s as if you’ve been living under some modified version of a rock, and finally have seen the light.

In my case, seeing the light of homemade croutons.

Making croutons is so flipping easy that I felt like an asshat for never doing this before. Always having sealed-store-bought-bags-of-powdery-croutons in my cabinet, it never dawned upon me to make my own, until last night when I needed to make a salad to accompany dinner. I had no toppings other than tomato and avocado. I found an easy recipe and the croutons turned out fantastic. Check-check-check-it-out!

Homemade Croutons

Ingredients

3 slices of day old bread (I used sourdough), sliced into bite size
Olive oil – enough to coat the bread
Crushed red pepper
Garlic salt
Salt and Pepper

Preparation

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl. Spread croutons onto baking sheet and back for 12-15 minutes, or until golden brown.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 Responses to “Homemade Croutons”

  1. Sheila June 20, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    I agree with Jackie…. I’d be munching on those before the salad was done.

    • tealandtulle July 3, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      I totally did! I was popping them in my mouth as I was preparing dinner. I had to stop myself so there would be enough for the salads!

  2. Jackie June 20, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    Is there anything you can’t do!? I think I’d end up eating these croutons like popcorn. Yum!!

    • tealandtulle July 3, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      I might have done exactly that after they came out of the oven. It was a low point.

Leave a Reply

