Two Hundred

11 Jul

This post marks my two hundredth post on Teal and Tulle.

200 post star

I have posted 200 craft, recipe, and lifestyle ideas. Some good, some bad, some really stupid. I mean, why don’t I delete this one? The pictures are horrible.

I have given little-to-no a lot of thought on what I wanted to post for this monumental occasion. I decided since this is my blog about crap I like to do, I’m going to make this post about me.

You’re welcome.

Five Neat-o Things In My Life, Aside from Giving Myself a Gold Star for 200 Posts

1. This guy.

He is called Fancy Boy. Why? Because he’s my kid and I’ll call him whatever I want.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. My Grand Grad Program

danland_logoNeat, right?

It’s the 5th best master’s program in the country for this subject and they admitted little ole me. This has been an achievement at least one active year in the making and several years inactively pining away at this goal. I worked very hard to get to this point and I’m very pleased for what may be next.

And NO. This doesn’t mean this blog will become one about the 4th, 5th, or 6th Amendments.

An homage to this group? Maybe.

Just maybe.

3.Tackling My First Counted Cross Stitch Project in Five Years

Anyone who knows about counted cross stitch read that statement and either sucked in a gasp of air or uttered the phrase “why?”

To explain, counted cross stitch is a needle-art where you read a project pattern that is covered with tiny little squares, all denoted with symbols that coordinate to certain tread colors. Here’s a pattern example:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From there, you use a fabric (called an Aida Cloth) that is woven together, which creates little tiny squares that match up with the squares on your pattern. You embroider the squares as directed on the pattern, counting the squares as you work. Confusing, right?

It totally is.

Why am I doing this?

Because I’m stitching a Christmas stocking for Fancy Boy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know, I know. I’m adding it to the list of things he’ll never appreciate. Much like his lack of appreciation of me giving up copious amounts of caffeine and booze until his birth.

4. Lula’s Second Anniversary

This little kitten won me over two years ago this week and we haven’t looked back since. She has gone from hiding under the guest bed for days on end to only hiding under the throw pillows in our bedroom when guests (mostly unwelcome in her book) arrive. She is a great companion (to me, not guests) and is always by my side ready for a sewing project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5. I’m so ready for another 200 posts on Teal & Tulle

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ll try and keep it mostly about crafts and food, and a lot less about criminal behavior.

However, that statement led me to discover that this is really a thing.

Can you imagine the dialogue behind admiring the piece of art?

Idiot 1: Where did you get that?
Idiot 2: Online. Painted by someone serving 6-9 for gang motivated robbery.
Idiot 1: Neat!

8 Responses to “Two Hundred”

  1. Frankie Fingers Senior July 12, 2013 at 6:49 pm #

    I couldn’t be more proud of you!!

  2. Jackie July 11, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    Congrats on 200 posts!! It’s been fun to read about your crafts, clothes and recipes!

    I bet your liver appreciates your break from caffeine and booze even if fancy boy does not. Also, Lula is so cute that I nite my lip in cuteness overload whenever I look upon her petite face.

    Prison art eh? Just think what Martha Stewart would have made while she served time. I’m surprised she didn’t come out with an entire “Martha Stewart Prison Plates” collection.

    • tealandtulle July 15, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      I think Martha could do a chain link pattern on some china and it would sell well. She could call it “Incarceration: The chains that bind.”

  3. Sheila July 11, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Great accomplishments, one and all, and I have enjoyed everyone of your posts!

    • tealandtulle July 12, 2013 at 8:25 am #

      Thanks Sheila! I appreciate the readership and support. πŸ™‚

  4. Meghan July 11, 2013 at 11:44 am #

    Erin, I love that you call him fancy boy! And congratulations on UCI. Such a big and exciting year for you!

Leave a Reply

