Recovering Crib Bumpers

29 Jul

Crib bumpers are one of those obnoxiously controversial items in the baby world. Whenever I utter the phrase “crib bumper” I feel like it should be followed up by this.

So, I am going to preface this post by saying I am not going to have the crib bumper (this again) and my baby in the crib at the same time. For those of you who live in fear of crib bumpers (yup), recognize that I am using it as a decorative item that will be in the crib when the baby is not. Save the lectures for someone who cares about your concerns. I’m pretty sure that is why Internet forums exist.

Now that my disclaimer is out of the way, I can proceed with my fun sewing project.

I have sat on this project for weeks and weeks. Mostly out of worry that I would irrevocably screw up the project and I’d be out of fabric and patience.

Ends up the project was substantially easier than I originally assumed.

The crib bumper came in four separate pieces, instead of my envisioned-single-super-long-impossible-to-work-with-piece.

That meant I was able to recover each section of the crib bumper as I would a throw pillow.

Recovering Crib Bumpers

What_You_Need_Crib_BumperStep 1: Iron fabric, measure it, and cut. You will need enough fabric to cover both sides of the bumper, plus the hem.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step 2: Pin fabric together. Remove ties from crib bumper, pin to fabric

You may need to iron your fabric again.

Crib bumpers come with ties already attached. To save yourself a step in making ties (unless you need to do a color match), cut the ties off the crib bumpers and pin them to your fabric. Make sure the ties are in between the fabric pieces, the ties going inward to ensure you sew the ties on correctly.

Step 3: Sew three sides of the fabric cover together. Leave one short end open.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You may need to iron your fabric again (I know, right?)

Step 4: Stuff crib bumper into fabric cover. Close last end with a hidden stitch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a tutorial on how to do a hidden stitch.

Done!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 Responses to “Recovering Crib Bumpers”

  1. Meghan July 30, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    I know nothing about crib bumpers, so hopefully some day in the future you can explain this all to me. The crib sure looks cute though!

  2. jackievernon July 29, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Cutest crib ever! I kind of want to sleep in there!

    • tealandtulle July 30, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      Ha! Hendrix feels the same way. He likes to get in there and hang out. 🙂

  3. Renee July 29, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    “Sew” cute! And sorry for being one of those annoying people that warned you about crib bumpers.

Leave a Reply

