Animal Instinct

15 Aug

As you have probably noticed over the past month or two, I have practically burned up my sewing machine’s motor with projects recently.

I decided it was time to transition to something that didn’t include fabric or needles or a pattern… wait a minute.

Dammit!

Ok, so embroidery has some of the same components as sewing, but it has been a welcome reprieve from sitting hunched over a sewing machine, stitching fabric together.

I downloaded this adorable pattern for the nursery and decided to make little animal portraits to frame and hang on the wall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I opted for a satin stitch instead of a traditional outlining stitch (like a split or back stitch). Here is a tutorial on how to do a satin stitch.

The project ended up coming out very well (for my first larger satin stitch endeavor). I had a few false starts (as in, I had to throw out and restart the fox three times – THREE times), but eventually got the kinks worked out. I would recommend outlining your work in a braided thread for a nice finished touch.

Don’t know how to embroider? Any pattern you pick up will include a quick lesson how to embroider and you’ll discover it’s incredibly easy.

Once finished, I used 8×10 frames and mats with a 5×7 opening. Frames and mats are from Michael’s.

2013-08-15

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

3 Responses to “Animal Instinct”

  1. Jackie August 18, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Cute, cute, cute!! Those embroidered peices give the nursery the perfect whimsical touch! I adore the colors too.

  2. Mom August 15, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    The bear is so cute.
    .

    • tealandtulle August 15, 2013 at 10:48 am #

      Thanks! He was fun to make. His eyes were supposed to be all black (and I know bears don’t have “green” eyes) but I figured it gave him some more personified qualities this way.

Leave a Reply

