Dress(er) You Up With My Love

6 Sep

This week, Steve and I undertook a pretty hefty project (for us).

We bought an old oak dresser and refinished it.

Slap a little paint, drill some hardware, load ‘er up with clothes, and you’re good to go, right?

Oh no. This was an endeavor. As in, I lost my sh*t probably three times a night for an entire week kind of endeavor.

This post isn’t a tutorial on painting, because this project was a big learning experience for me. Mostly it’s a post to show everyone point A and point Z and nothing about how we got from one to the next.

Painting a large piece of furniture is a labor of hate love. You paint a coat, wait a day, sand/buff it out. Repeat. Four times.

Next is going through the meticulous process of attaching the hardware. Let me tell you – that is a lot tougher than it seems. There is a strong likelihood that you will throw at least one drawer and drill down the hallway in frustration. That’s a good time to stop working and have a Popsicle. Or if you aren’t suffering from constant sobriety, a hearty glass of wine.

All that being said, the final result was worth the hard work.

Getting started.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Final result.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hardware pulls, Amerock brand, were purchased from Miner’s Hardware.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This little handle was purchased from Anthropologie. Definitely worth the splurge of $12.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Drawer liners are an inexpensive way to add a nice personal touch to your dresser. I found this and many other amazing patterns here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I was at it, I put together a little storage cabinet to use too. I used the extra drawer liners to back the cubes that are exposed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I raided some items from my childhood to help stock the nursery. I’m sure the kid is going to LOVE outdated junk from the early 1980s. I mean, who wouldn’t?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And our cat still seems to think the room is being redone just for him.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 Responses to “Dress(er) You Up With My Love”

  1. Jess September 18, 2013 at 8:45 am #

    I LOVE the nursery! Fancy boy is going to be one lucky little boy to have such an awesome room. Also, side note – so glad I admired the adorable clothes in the drawer because I was definitely going to get you the Fancy Pants onesie . . .

    • tealandtulle October 9, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

      Ha! You and I are of the same mindset. ❤ BTW – the book you gave us is proudly on display on the dresser. We both love it.

  2. Jessica September 15, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

    I love that chair and pillow combo!

  3. Jackie September 6, 2013 at 3:25 pm #

    The nursery is really coming together! I love that dresser and it is so much cuter than if you found something brand new!

    • tealandtulle September 16, 2013 at 11:51 am #

      Thanks Jackie! I’m pleased with how it came out too. Sanding and painting is a LOT of work (as you know).

  4. Meghan September 6, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    Wow, the dresser looks great! We actually bought a china cabinet recently that we plan to sand/repaint white just as you have done here, and now frankly I am terrified of tackiling this project. Any helpful tips? I absolutely love the hardware you picked out. Perfectly adorable! And your nursery looks great!!

    • tealandtulle September 16, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      I wish you the best of luck with your project! I already have another item I need to sand and paint, and I’m dreading it. 🙂

  5. Mom September 6, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

    I can’t believe it turned so well! After seeing the ‘before’ in person and now seeing the final product, I’m amazed. You two have done such an incredible job on your nursery.

    • tealandtulle September 16, 2013 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks! It was a lot of (frustrating) work, but it eventually came together.

Leave a Reply

